Diane Leclair Bisson

Designer has delved into what we do with the ashes of our loved ones and the accompanying actions, leading her to an exploration of sustainable scenarios and adding to the possible uses of urns to establish a bridge between the object and the person.

Her research into contemporary burial practices, and the preservation or the scattering of ashes has also engaged her in a reflection about materiality, which has guided the design of a new typology of objects and materials. Diane Leclair Bisson and MEMORIA revisit wood and ceramic, innovating through the use of new biodegradable and water-soluble materials, and surprising, through the use of textiles, silicone and even ice. The collection reflects a novel opening into a new culture of funerary material.

Diane Leclair Bisson was born in 1960 in Montréal, where she lives and works. She has studied design, humanities and social sciences, obtaining a M.Sc. in Anthropology, a M.A. in Museology, and a Ph.D. in History of Design (RCA). In keeping with this multi-disciplinary path, she explores spheres of creation where design and anthropology meet. Each of her design projects merge cultural research and experimentation with materials and technology to give products a socially and environmentally meaningful value. Previously recognized for her furniture design work in the ‘90s, she has been probing the world of sustainable food practice and nutrition since 2000, launching the pioneering Edible Container Project to reduce packaging waste. Bisson is the author of Edible:Food as material, les editions du Passage (2009). Her creative fieldwork has recently broadened to include sustainable funerary object design, and she has designed a collection of objects for MEMORIA that contrast with those of a traditionally conservative industry.

Back to product

Diane Leclair Bisson

La designer questionne les modes de disposition des cendres et la gestuelle qui les entoure afin de proposer des scénarios durables et multiplier les appropriations possibles de l’urne pour que s’établisse un pont entre l’objet et la personne.

Diane Bisson urne mateindigo

Sa recherche sur les pratiques contemporaines d’inhumation, de conservation ou de dispersion des cendres funéraires, l’engage également dans une réflexion sur la matérialité qui guide le design d’une nouvelle typologie d’objets et de matériaux. Diane Leclair Bisson et MEMORIA revisitent ici le bois et la céramique, innovent par de nouveaux matériaux biodégradables et hydrosolubles et étonnent par l’usage de textile, de silicone et même de glace. La collection témoigne d’une ouverture singulière sur une nouvelle culture matérielle funéraire.

Diane Leclair Bisson est née en 1960 à Montréal où elle vit et travaille. Elle s’est formée au design mais également aux sciences sociales et humaines (Anthropologie M. Sc., Muséologie M.A. et Histoire et Théories du design PhD (RCA). Ce parcours atypique l’amène à explorer des terrains de recherche création où se rencontrent le design et l’anthropologie. Concernée par le design social et écologique, ses projets s’appuient sur la recherche culturelle et l’expérimentation de nouveaux matériaux et technologies. Connue pour ses productions de mobilier durant les années 90, elle sonde depuis 2000 le monde des pratiques alimentaires durables et de la nutrition. Elle est l’une des pionnières du développement du Food Design, en particulier avec son projet de contenants comestibles comme solution de réduction des déchets d’emballage. Elle est l’auteure du livre Comestible : l’aliment comme matériau (Les éditions du passage, 2009).  Sa recherche création s’est récemment étendue au domaine des pratiques funéraires et elle conçoit pour MEMORIA une collection d’objets qui contrastent avec ceux d’une industrie encore conservatrice.


Retour au produit