Services

We got personalized support tailored to our needs. No pressure, quite the opposite: respect, empathy and a welcome ear at an emotionally charged time.

M. Rainville

As part of our mission, we’re always finding new ways of offering support to grieving families. That’s especially true in the current situation. Here are some tools and ideas to help you get through this difficult time. 

HOME RITUALS

  Having trouble coming up with the best way to honour your loved one? Why not celebrate their life from home and invite others to do the same? With an online obituary, you can invite family and friends to join you in paying tribute to the departed by lighting a candle, listening to a favourite song or simply gathering together at the same time. The invitation is easy to personalize and share via social networking.

See more sample invitations

An obituary doesn’t have to look the same for everyone. If you can, be creative: share Grandma's favourite recipe for butter tarts, post a wedding photo, whatever strikes your fancy.

Here are a few other ways you can honour your loved one from home:

  • Make a small altar with a photo, a special object or a candle; 
  • Write a note to the deceased, seal it in an envelope and feed it to your campfire this summer;  
  • Plant a shrub, a perennial or tree in the person’s memory this spring or fall.  

Don’t forget, you can always hold your celebration at a later date, once gatherings are again permitted:  on an anniversary, for instance, or at some other special time. If your loved one requested a church service, don’t worry, you can always invite people to a memorial at Christmas. There is no set rule; you decide what works best for you.    

Support for children 

For children, the idea of losing a loved one can be hard to grasp, and that’s especially true now, as families are prohibited from gathering together at funerals. Under the circumstances, how can they best say goodbye, or show their support for those around them? Here’s where you come in: don't hesitate to discuss what’s happened and encourage them to share their feelings. Maybe making a drawing would express it best, or writing a note to the family.

To help you open a dialogue with your children, we’ve come up with a colouring activity they can do. It’s as simple as choosing a picture they like and letting their creativity run free. Once they’re done, they then take a photo of their picture and share it online with the family. 

Here are a couple of examples

These days, children are under more stress than usual, so it’s important to know there are a number of specialized services that can help them deal with their grief over the phone, including Deuil-Jeunesse and La Maison des Petits Tournesols.

 

INNOVATING AND CREATING NEW RITUALS

The scattering of ashes is now common practice in Quebec. More than ever, MEMORIA is there to help you through the process, at your own pace. We've designed a variety of new, environmentally friendly celebrations that can be held in our Jardin des mémoires or in a special place of your own choosing.

Come discover our Jardin des mémoires and our new rituals today.

Honouring memory is our mission

At MEMORIA, we believe that every life is a story that deserves to be told and celebrated… stories to never be forgotten. That is why, for 80 years, we have spared no effort to bring to you new ideas and to offer the best funeral arrangements and the most personalized support services at accessible prices.

 

Transparency and Flexibility

As a leader and because of our respect for the families we serve, we are dedicated to providing you with absolute transparency in our offers of products and services. With MEMORIA, you will never have to deal with hidden costs.

Services

Un accompagnement personnalisé en fonction de nos besoins. Aucune pression, au contraire le respect, l'empathie et l'écoute sont à l'honneur dans des moments chargés d'émotivité.

M. Rainville

LOIN DES YEUX, PRÈS DU COEUR

Innover et créer de nouveaux rituels pour mieux accompagner fait partie de notre mission. Nous sommes conscients que la situation actuelle affecte grandement les familles endeuillées; voici quelques outils et idées pour traverser cette période difficile.  

RITUELS À LA MAISON 

Vous n’avez pu concevoir l’hommage souhaité pour l’être cher disparu?  Nous vous proposons la création d’un rituel à faire à la maison à partager. À partir de l’avis de décès en ligne, vous pourrez inviter famille et amis à se joindre à vous en pensée pour rendre hommage à l’être aimé par un geste symbolique tel qu’allumer une bougie, écouter une chanson particulière ou encore, vous recueillir à distance au même moment. Il ne faut pas hésiter à personnaliser cette invitation qui se partage facilement sur les réseaux sociaux.  

Télécharger nos exemples de rituels

Notez que nos avis de décès peuvent s’adapter à votre créativité. Pourquoi ne pas y partager la recette de sucre à la crème de grand-maman? Ou y ajouter quelques photos significatives?

Voici quelques autres suggestions de rituels à faire à la maison :

  • Créez un petit autel avec une photo, un objet symbolique ou une bougie en hommage à l’être cher; 
  • Écrivez un mot à la personne disparue. N’hésitez pas à sceller l’enveloppe et à la déposer dans un feu de camp au chalet l’été prochain, par exemple; 
  • Plantez un arbuste, une plante vivace ou un arbre en mémoire, ce printemps ou à l’automne.  

N’oubliez pas que vous pourrez organiser une célébration à une date anniversaire ou à tout autre moment symbolique lorsque les rassemblements seront à nouveau permis. Si le disparu souhaitait une cérémonie à l’église, il vous est possible de faire célébrer une messe en sa mémoire à un autre moment, à Noël par exemple. Il n'y a pas de règle établie en cette matière, c'est vous qui décidez ce qui vous fait du bien.    

Accompagner les enfants 

Pour les plus jeunes, la perte d’un proche est plus abstraite, surtout dans l’impossibilité de vivre le rassemblement familial au salon funéraire. Peut-être n’ont-ils même pas pu dire au revoir à la personne aimée? Ou encore veulent-ils démontrer leur soutien à un proche? N’hésitez pas à en discuter avec eux et à les encourager à communiquer leurs émotions, à travers des dessins ou l’écriture pour les plus grands. 

Pour vous aider à ouvrir le dialogue, nous vous offrons des activités à colorier. L’enfant peut choisir l’image qui lui plaît et laisser libre cours à sa créativité. Ensuite, il ne reste qu'à prendre une photo de son œuvre pour la partager avec la famille. 

Télécharger nos activités pour enfants

Comme la détresse peut être encore plus présente dans le contexte actuel, il est important de savoir que de précieuses ressources spécialisées offrent du soutien téléphonique aux familles d'enfants endeuillés, notamment Deuil-Jeunesse et La Maison des Petits Tournesols.

 

NOUVEAUX RITUELS EN HARMONIE AVEC LA NATURE

La dispersion des cendres est une pratique maintenant bien ancrée au Québec. Plus que jamais, MEMORIA est là pour vous accompagner à toutes les étapes, à votre rythme. Nous avons créé de nouvelles cérémonies significatives et écologiques, qui peuvent se dérouler dans notre Jardin des mémoires ou dans un lieu qui vous est cher. 

Découvrez notre Jardin des mémoires et nos nouveaux rituels dès maintenant

Honorer la mémoire, c’est notre mission

Chez MEMORIA, nous croyons que chaque vie est une histoire qui vaut d’être racontée, célébrée. Jamais oubliée. C’est pourquoi, depuis 80 ans, nous multiplions les gestes et les innovations afin d’offrir les meilleurs services funéraires et les services d’accompagnement les plus dignes qui soient, aux prix des plus accessibles.


Transparence et souplesse

Notre rôle de leader et le respect de notre mission à l’égard des familles que nous servons nous imposent une transparence absolue dans toutes nos offres de produits et services. Avec MEMORIA, vous n’aurez jamais à composer avec des frais cachés.